Traffic Ticket Attorney

Disabled Drivers: Facts to be Aware of!

December 10, 2015

Most states have special provisions for a disabled driver. A person with disabilities refers to anyone with physical limitations, regardless of the cause. To apply for disability placards or license plates, you’ll be required to have a doctor or another approved medical professional to certify your disability in the application. In some cases, you may have to pay a fee for your permit. You can either apply for a temporary or a permanent permit.

  • Temporary permit fee: $15
  • Permanent permit fee: free

Temporary permits are valid up to 6 months after which you will need a doctor’s certification for a second term. If you receive a traffic ticket in Florida during this period, it is best if you consult a traffic ticket attorney, who will guide you through the disabled driver rights.

If your medical condition is long term, you have the option of applying for a wheelchair logo  (disabled) license plate. Your long term permit is valid for 4 years.

If you have a medical condition that deems you as a Florida disabled driver, you are eligible to apply for a disability placard. The idea behind the disability placard is to allow you special parking privileges within a parking lot and other special privileges that are granted to those who are disabled within the state of Florida.

The placard must be displayed on the rear view mirror of your vehicle and the permit number must be visible to anyone standing outside your vehicle. If you “lend” your permit to anyone, it may lead to a Florida Suspended license or suspension of your permit. Anyone who uses your disabled parking permit unlawfully may have to face a jail term of six months and pay a fine of $2,000.

Once the 4 year validity of regular disabled parking permits is over, submit a registered copy of the  old parking permit, along with the required fees to the tax collector’s office or to the license plate agency in the county where you live, to seek renewal. A temporary permit cannot be renewed.

Were you cited for a traffic violation while driving with a disabled driver’s license? Just call us at 1(800) 248-2846 today. Don’t pay your ticket – fight it! Our firm has years of experience handling cases similar to yours – just check our track record. Rest easy while we go to court for you!