Traffic Ticket Attorney

Florida’s Texting and Driving Ban Begins Today!

October 1, 2013

Starting today, if you text and drive in Florida, you may find yourself being ticketed.

Right now the law makes texting a secondary offense, which means you can’t be pulled over for texting alone.  But you can be pulled over for speeding, reckless driving or another offense and issued a second ticket for texting behind the wheel.  Texting at red lights is okay. A first offense will earn you a $30 fine; a second, $60 – a relatively light punishment for such a hot-button issue.

But, the Florida legislature is already working to make texting while driving a more severe offense, including bills to make it a primary offense (meaning you can be pulled over for texting without committing other driving infraction) and stiffer penalties.

Stay tuned for more on this law as it goes into effect.